Advice on Karate Sparring tournament on Dec 3

Posted by: Salek

Advice on Karate Sparring tournament on Dec 3 - 11/20/04 11:01 PM

Hey guys, I have been to 4 or 5 sparring tournaments and gotten first in all except my first one. I tape each one, and when I go back and watch my earlier ones, my face turns red at my posture and style, but that is besides the point. I usually win with a kick or sweep, for the past two tournaments I beleive that was my soul strategy. I have a few new strategys for this years tournaments, including a crecent (not quite sure if thats how you spell it) kick fake, turning into a round house. I have also made a few changes to my fighting stance since the last tournament. I am guessing you need a little information about me in order to answer the question so, I am 5'7 about 150 pounds with a good strong build. I have been training now for about 5 years and have the rank of 4th Kyu (purple belt) in Shotokan Karate. Now finaly for my question.

Are there any strategys that you would suggest for me, so I can avoid the old sweep or kick?

Thanks in advance
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Advice on Karate Sparring tournament on Dec 3 - 11/23/04 07:17 AM

One question I must ask is if you bounce on the front of your feet when sparring or do you stand flat footed? I always stand flat footed which is not a good thing. If you bounce on the front of your feet your opponent does not pick up on what you are going to throw at him or her as fast as they would flat footed. Your body is always moving and therefore they do will not have as fast as a perception on when or how you attack. Some fighters have a habit of moving their hands across there body in a horizontal motion as they are bouncing around. This opens the stomach and mid section up for the round house and side kick.