Sparring within the confines of your system

Posted by: BlackDragon

Sparring within the confines of your system - 08/23/03 12:40 PM

Does anyone really spar within the confines of their fighting system? Is the concept of "absorb what is useful" not used by every martial artist to some degree? Even by the so-called traditionalists? I am a student of Tae Kwon Do and I use elements of Muay Thai and Wing Chun when I spar amongst other things as it surprises the hell out of my classmates when I block kicks with my shins or block strikes with the rising elbow blocks of Wing Chun. I guess the question should be whether or not we are all mixed martial artists to some degree?

Respects to all
Posted by: MAGon

Re: Sparring within the confines of your system - 08/24/03 08:29 AM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by BlackDragon:
Does anyone really spar within the confines of their fighting system? Is the concept of "absorb what is useful" not used by every martial artist to some degree? Even by the so-called traditionalists?...

Respects to all
[/QUOTE]

The short answer: No!!!

[QUOTE]Originally posted by BlackDragon:
...I guess the question should be whether or not we are all mixed martial artists to some degree?

Respects to all
[/QUOTE]

The thoughtful ones are. But it's by no means the rule. Hence the bad rep traditional arts have developed.
Posted by: JKogas

Re: Sparring within the confines of your system - 08/24/03 09:45 AM

By all means....if we aren't "mixed martial artists", then are we not short-changing ourselves as martial artists??

-John
Posted by: Remandman

Re: Sparring within the confines of your system - 10/16/03 01:25 PM

My Sensai encourages us to learn other martial arts. He says that will bennefit us. Especially boxing or Judo. If I had the money and time, I would do martial arts every day of the week.
Posted by: nindz

Re: Sparring within the confines of your system - 11/21/03 07:28 AM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Remandman: