ego and competition

Posted by: wannabee

ego and competition - 04/13/08 08:29 PM

Hello, everyone. I am a 40ish female martial artist who has been training for ~15 years. For the past 10 years I have mostly reffed and judged at tournaments, only competing in a few. It was the right decision for me at that time. Now I am getting back into competition, having moved to a new place, in order to meet people. In my previous home I enjoyed having a circle of friends from different martial arts.

My struggle is this: I have always focused on the traditional, technical side of things and am not interested in glitz, glam and especially ego gratification that I consider to be NOT what martial arts is about for me. I don't want to judge those things. I am worried that it is possible to get caught up in that when competing. What I am truly worried about is, is it impossible to avoid becoming drawn in by that?

This is a really long way of questioning if there is anyone out there who considers these types of things when they are competing and what your experiences are?
Posted by: MattJ

Re: ego and competition - 04/13/08 08:36 PM

Are you talking about competing in forms or sparring? If you can pull it off in sparring, that's nice, and will help. But not necessary.

In forms? Depends on the tourney and judges. Unless it is a traditional competition/division that you're in, the musical/back-flipping/neon-nunchaku crowd will probably always have the OOH AHHH advantage over you.
Posted by: wannabee

Re: ego and competition - 04/13/08 09:42 PM

Both. Yeah, I don't care if I win. And I can say that without it being theoretical. I did not win at a tournament yesterday and I WAS surprised, not that I did not win, but which form DID win. And I am still OK with that.

To refine my question, or even change it, what philosophical/psychological approaches to you use in tournament competition?

How does competition affect you?