overcome fear

Posted by: niko

overcome fear - 01/06/06 12:22 PM

Hi,
I've been practicing wing tsun for more than 3 years now but I still have fear when an opponent is phisically strong. Sometimes we wear helmets and gloves and train in pairs. One simulates the attacker and the other one is doing self defense.
When I practice this with other students I have no problems even if the opponent is stronger. But when I try to defend myself against the attacks of the instructor I have some fear so I don't jump in and let him come too close to me so I get hit.
Has anyone of you ever had problems with fear and overcomed that with time? Does anyone know the best way to fight the fear?
Regards,
Niko
Posted by: MattJ

Re: overcome fear - 01/06/06 01:17 PM

Practice will help. The more practice you get, the less fear you will have. Talk to your instructor about maybe modulating the intensity of your sparing sessions to suit your needs.
Posted by: Prizewriter

Re: overcome fear - 01/06/06 01:33 PM

It sounds as though you are afraid of you may get injured or hurt, and to be honest I can't imagine that happening if your instructor knows what he or she is doing.

For what this is worth...

I will never forget my first boxing sparring session. I was hammering the punch bag, had just bought my gum shield, and my coach had told me how good my shots were looking in practice.

I got in the ring and imagined how impressed the gym would be as I danced round my sparring partner. So off we went, I pretty much ran to the centre of the ring to meet my opponent. Then it happened: BOOM! He caught me right on my temple with a big right hand. He racked me and my legs did a little dance. I panicked. I began retreating, switching stances, doing anything I could to not get hit again. I managed to last 2 rounds. I realized after that although I could punch well, I had a poor defence.