Being short is the pits....

Posted by: PierrePressure

Being short is the pits.... - 09/02/05 12:28 AM

Ok all.
I'm really sorry if this has been asked before (if it has, then just direct me to the old thread), but how do you deal with taller fighters when you're like 5'3/5'4? I asked my instructor what to do, and he said (basically) stay just out of their punching/kicking range (apparently, some people actually adjust to their PARTNER'S punching/kicking ranges instead of their own. And, from experience, I'd say that is true), and when you want to hit, don't telegraph that you're about to come in, and when you're "in range", throw your techniques and then quickly get out of the way. I'm very new to sparring (like, have only done it maybe 5 times), but I would love to hear tips and ideas. Just please try to keep it general (for example, don't tell me to try things that only your art teaches, or else I really won't know what you're talking about ). Thanks!
Posted by: butterfly

Re: Being short is the pits.... - 09/02/05 12:33 PM

Problem with what your describing also mandates knowing what is allowed in the sparring you do.

If it is standup, are you allowed to throw? Can you grab? Can you push? Are low kicks allowed? How about face punches?

The reason I ask these things is that once you are given a set of allowables it is easier to make a decision for stategy.

-B

Re: Being short is the pits.... - 09/02/05 02:43 PM

Oh! Right. I should have clarified that.