knife defense

Posted by: Anonymous

knife defense - 03/28/05 03:27 PM

How can I defend myself against a knife attack? I'm worried that someone will attack my legs which will destroy my ground fighting ability. (The ground is the position in which I'm most dangerous from what I've been told)
Posted by: JKogas

Re: knife defense - 03/28/05 03:42 PM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Rainbowtiger:
How can I defend myself against a knife attack? I'm worried that someone will attack my legs which will destroy my ground fighting ability. (The ground is the position in which I'm most dangerous from what I've been told)[/QUOTE]

How about running away from someone with a knife? That way you'll be able to USE your legs to defend the knife attack.

-John
Posted by: still wadowoman

Re: knife defense - 03/28/05 03:47 PM

John,
Usually good advice, but you are obviously unaware that rainbowtiger is a wheelchair user.
Sharon

Re: knife defense - 03/28/05 04:18 PM

i'm not an expert on self-defense from a wheelchair, but maybe you could keep yourself turned so that your strong side of toward the attacker, basically a fighting stance, and not squared off

-or-
get a gun, nobody's going to do a weapons search on someone in a wheelchair.

Re: knife defense - 03/28/05 06:36 PM

Salutations!

Well as a knife instructor, I can tell you that this is a tough question, but I'll try my best.

If you are in a wheel chair the best you can do is get away, prevention and awareness are your best weapons. If you are trained in knife fighting then you know what to carry; if trained in firearms, well, you know. I really do not reccomend to try to disarm a knife especially from a trained fighter. I tried this last week with my advanced students class and myself was only successfull only 50% of the times, the rest of the times I either dissarmed the knife but got cut or didn't dissarmed the knife at all and got cut.