Defense against rape

Posted by: Anonymous

Defense against rape - 12/09/04 10:48 AM

I'm a 16 year old male. I have my first degree black belt in kenpo karate and i'm going to be running a self-defense class at my school. Some of the girls have asked me about running womens self-defense/rape defense classes so that they "know what to do" if ever placed in this situation. Does anyone have any tips or techniques/situations that I can use in my class? Feel free to e-mail me too. Jarell_2005@hotmail.com

Re: Defense against rape - 12/09/04 01:13 PM

It is a noble thing that you're doing, just make sure you do it right. Good intentions can sometime lead to problems.

I think when teaching you want to "keep it simple" so they can remember it. Heavy emphasis on techniquess will be easily be forgotten especially if they don't practice them all of the time.

If you are serious about teaching something like this, take the time to research it thoroughly. Some of this information talks about how to avoid or what can be done to limit this type of contact. This is equally as important as any techniques you could show them to escape. Knowledge is power and it is in your hands to pass this along to them.

Here are some links that might be useful.
http://www.womentodaymagazine.com/family/safety.html http://www.defendu.com/questions/quest34.htm http://www.rapeescape.com/fightwfear.htm http://www.geocities.com/mechanicolet/lite/la018.html

There is more information on the web but I think that they basically have similar information. I think you'll find some of this useful. Good Luck

Re: Defense against rape - 12/10/04 12:40 AM

jarell,

while i will admit that i don't know your skill level personally, i would say the most important advice would be to ask yourself wether or not you are qualified to run these classes

are you aware of any basic criminal psychology?

aware of personality types?

criminal to victim interview techniques?