Any Tips For a Beginner?

Posted by: Anonymous

Any Tips For a Beginner? - 10/29/04 11:41 AM

Sorry for the moderately lame topic, but I AM a beginner...I've started out just messing around with a Heavy Bag, and I just want to learn more technique. I'm pretty fast with the punches, quick on my feet, but my punches aren't that powerful. I can do SOME footwork and still keep my balance, but I just would like some tips/ suggestions to ahem...get better!

Re: Any Tips For a Beginner? - 10/29/04 11:55 AM

To get more power in your punches you should put your whole body into it! Use your hips! A good tip is; instead of trying to hit the target, try to hit through it! Put a snap at the end of any move and you will get more power! Also, for more speed, don't tighten your fist before the point of impact! Speed is power! Another good tip for foot work is to tie a piece of wrope to both ankles the width of you shoulders and spar or punch on the bag! Do this for about an hour and your footwork will be bad a$s! It is kind of hard at first, but after about fifteen minutes you will be used to it! Ofcourse there is also Physical Training! That will help tremendously!
HAVE FUN!
Posted by: MAGon

Re: Any Tips For a Beginner? - 10/29/04 03:57 PM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Martial_Arts_Rock:
Sorry for the moderately lame topic, but I AM a beginner...I've started out just messing around with a Heavy Bag, and I just want to learn more technique. I'm pretty fast with the punches, quick on my feet, but my punches aren't that powerful. I can do SOME footwork and still keep my balance, but I just would like some tips/ suggestions to ahem...get better![/QUOTE]

Do what your teacher has taught you to do, but have patience. It'll come.
There's also boxing books and now even MA books on drills with the bag. But the key word is patience. As that very famous sensei once said: "Ah, Daniel- san, first learn stand, then learn fly!"

Re: Any Tips For a Beginner? - 11/02/04 07:57 PM