A BASIC self-defence teckneque

Posted by: Anonymous

A BASIC self-defence teckneque - 07/17/04 07:06 AM

I have been learning teckneques know for about 5 years thinking that I am getting close to my black belt grading, to then realize that I have only learnd the basics of the teckneques and that there is more to these relistic self-defence monoeuvers than meats the eye.
Thay are drills:- to build up timing and speed, principles and monoeuvers to develop starnceand angles to create maximum damage with minimal effort.
the closer I get, the further I fall.
I have started assist in teaching juiors and have coverd adult lessons, I am starting to think that by teaching I learn more than when I train!
I have completed a fitness instructor course I thought this might help get me closer to my goal but insted has dug a hole.
I am trying not to compromise training with teaching but feal the need to do both!
am I going in the right direction or am I trying to hard?

[This message has been edited by xblis (edited 07-17-2004).]

Re: A BASIC self-defence teckneque - 07/17/04 07:08 AM

Depends. You learning for sport or self-defence?

Re: A BASIC self-defence teckneque - 07/17/04 07:10 AM

both

Re: A BASIC self-defence teckneque - 07/17/04 07:12 AM

to develop the self defence but to build an athelete in me as well

[This message has been edited by xblis (edited 07-17-2004).]
Posted by: schanne

Re: A BASIC self-defence teckneque - 07/17/04 08:28 AM

Something to think about....

"The more I know,the more I climb, yet the mountain justs gets higher. The more I try, the more I focus, the depth is limitless. There is no end in sight. That is karate, my life."

Re: A BASIC self-defence teckneque - 07/18/04 05:51 PM

Great one schanne!