need help choosing style/ not the normal what is best

Posted by: Anonymous

need help choosing style/ not the normal what is best - 05/18/04 09:30 PM

I am new to martial arts and would like to hear more experienced opinions. I'm not asking which style is best. I want to know which style you would recommend for me.I know that a persons size and other factors are important. So i hoped if i supplied some info that it would not sound like the same question "which one is best". I'm 5'6" 160 lbs. in good shape. i have had some boxing training and train with heavy bag and weights. Since i'm short I dont think TKD or karate is for me. i like the idea of wing chun except for leading strong side first. I think the boxing training I've had may conflict with wing chun. JKD sounds good but i hear there are alot of fakes.I got my neck broke a few years ago in a car wreck. It has healed fine but wonder if Jujitsu or judo would be a smart idea. i used to like to spar so i want that just not to extreme. my fighting days are over. I'm in my 30's and pretty mellow. I want to learn a martial art for several reasons but if i'm going to learn one i want it to be a good one not thai chi or some foo foo that just prepares me to have inner peace while getting my butt kicked or takes a life time to understand. I know its the school or instructor not the style but if all things were equal i do think there is a style that would probably fit me best. Any advice would be helpful.
Posted by: laf7773

Re: need help choosing style/ not the normal what is best - 05/18/04 11:07 PM