Clothing

Posted by: anandan

Clothing - 09/23/02 08:55 PM

Hi, I have been studing martial arts on and off for about five years. I would like your opinion on the following. Why don't we practise our respective arts fully clothed, just as if we were walking on the streets or, going to work. This way, we would learn the advantages and difficulties experienced with casual/office clothing. So far none of the schools in FIJI, ( we have about twenty assorted martial arts schools)allow shoes or casual clothes in the dojo. After all we will not be wearing gi's and be walking barefoot on the streets.
Your opinions will be highly apprecitted
Thanx
Anish
Posted by: Jim

Re: Clothing - 09/24/02 08:06 AM

That sounds perfectly reasonable to me.

I used to train at a club that trained outside regularly. I found that a very useful experience because we were training on uneven ground and grass. You really learnt something about using terrain and light to your advantage. Because the training was outside too we did not wear Gis and were not barefoot.
Posted by: Usol

Re: Clothing - 09/25/02 05:21 AM

Very true what you are saying guys, but you also need to apply it the other way around - you need to think of what you wear on the street.

You can get jeans now that are stiched with lycra - look like normal jeans, but you can kick like you are in your Do Bohk (Gi).

What I do is practice in my own garden with friends from other martial arts, in street clothes. I learn what to do in class, I learn how to do it effectivley outside.

Just a thought

'Sol
Posted by: Eran

Re: Clothing - 11/27/02 11:15 AM

I agree with everything that was written. Most schools do not practice with anything other than their respective arts' uniforms.