Brute Force or Skillful Technique

Posted by: judderman

Brute Force or Skillful Technique - 11/02/01 02:42 PM

Some have said that one of the keys to winning a fight is being able to hit very hard.

Some have said that it is more which techniques you employ.

So is the key strength or the application of technique ??

Any thoughts or ideas??

Budo.
Posted by: Ishinguy

Re: Brute Force or Skillful Technique - 11/02/01 06:11 PM

Interesting point Judderman. I am a beginner in Karate and have always thought that brute force was the way to go and I still feel that that is often the effective way especially if you are more powerfull than your oposition. But recently our Sensei showed us some Akido moves and I was quite impressed with them, while they did take a little skill , they weren't really all that complicated and took very little physical effort.

[This message has been edited by Ishinguy (edited 11-02-2001).]
Posted by: MrVigerous

Re: Brute Force or Skillful Technique - 11/04/01 07:10 AM

I think someone of note once said " in a fight between an 8 stone black belt Karateka and an 18 stone Irish welder (why Irish i dont know, any welder would do)- put you money on the welder" I presume this to mean in a conflict between skill and a massive advantage in weight and raw strength, put you money on weight and raw strength. Is this really the case? Well frankly i'd have to admit to saying that it is. Skill and the application of technique will only get you so far. Sure when coupled with power it can be deadly, but without power, it might well be somewhat pointless. To illustrate the point, if I (being quite tall and well built)
were to fight an equaly skilled opponent, for example a women, who weighed very little