How to learn ki

Posted by: Anonymous

How to learn ki - 03/11/05 05:17 AM

Hi

I'm totally new to this.
I don't study any kind of martial arts, and I'm not interested in "fighting", but I would like to explore ki and what good it can do for me and others..
I believe that learning to master ki techniques, can help improve my wellbeeing and everyday energy. And maybe also help others.

Can I learn Ki without learning anything like Twae Kon Do or Karate or any other kind of "fighting" arts?

As I'm living in a small place, here is not much posibilities around here, so I would have to selfstudy..

Is there any way to learn this by myself, is there any books on the subject? And how long will it normally take to reach a basic level?
I have downloaded a "Ki manual" by Skull Kid, where it gives training techniques for meditation, and visualization and some sort of ki techniques. Will this be possible to learn on my own??

Any advice on how to get started considering the limited possibilities of a small place??

The Edge

[This message has been edited by TheEdge (edited 03-11-2005).]

[This message has been edited by TheEdge (edited 03-11-2005).]
Posted by: Fisherman

Re: How to learn ki - 03/11/05 06:16 AM

First things first.
You can delete the Ki manual because it is a hoax. Somewhere within the threads here 'Skullkid' posted that he made the whole thing up. Don't waste your time with that garbage.

There are ways to learn how to 'use' qi without having to learn a martial art. However, self teaching any type of energetic work can potentialy be hazardous to your health.
The two energetic related practices that come to mind right off the bat for me are Qigong (Chi Gong or Chi Kung) and Reiki. I fyou are looking to keep yourself heathy qigong is a great tool for that. If you are looking at helping others, reiki would be an excellent choice. Or even better, you could do both.
Good luck,

Chris
Posted by: nenipp

Re: How to learn ki - 03/11/05 06:56 AM