Looking for instruction at JMU

Posted by: Anonymous

Looking for instruction at JMU - 12/24/04 08:14 AM

My niece is heading to JMU this fall and she is interested in taking up a martial art. She's had some aikido. She's played 3 sports in HS but had a serious knee injury which required surgery. I'm an experience external practioner but have had intro to internal kung fu while I was at VT. I suggested she take up H-sing I, Ba Gua, Tai Chi, etc. not just for the martial art asspect but for her knee as well. Can anyone tell me if they know of a good instructor in the JMU/Harrisburg,VA area? Thank You.

Re: Looking for instruction at JMU - 12/26/04 01:05 AM

Hey, if she doesn't mind driving some a couple days a week she could come do Gao Bagua in Annandale. It's the best school in the area with real fighting bagua and xingyi from the yizong lineage. I have been training there for 10 months now, and have loved every minute. The school is Zong Wu Men, website is www.yizongbagua.com. We train safely to make our minds, bodies, and skills all stronger. I can answer most questions you would probably have if she is interested. It's a great school, George Wood, my teacher, is a really honest and straight-forward person who has an excellent complete working knowledge of the system and how it is taught and trained. No other school in the area really has anything near this good.
Jesse

Re: Looking for instruction at JMU - 01/03/05 09:56 AM

Doesn't Ed Hampton (former student of Vince Black and several others) have a school in the area? Primarily Xingyiquan.

White Tiger something or other...will have to check my notes...but anyway, Ed is someone to seriously consider.

Hope that helps!

Re: Looking for instruction at JMU - 01/04/05 08:48 PM