Now that's what I call Ki

Posted by: Bossman

Now that's what I call Ki - 04/26/04 01:39 PM

I wrote this about 6 years ago, but it still has value....

Well, I’m not a scientist, or an intellectual, or a historian so I can’t give those views, but then I think that those have been pretty well covered and I’m not about to argue with them.

I can only give my humble opinion (IMHO in Internet speak) for what it’s worth (FWIW in Internet speak).

Speaking of the Internet, my “net friend” (what a nerd I’m getting), a Japanese senior grade Shito Ryu stylist living in the US and self proclaimed “Devils Advocate” concerning issues like Ki, asks whether anyone can make a pencil move by just using Ki - any takers?

The best translation that I can come up with for my understanding of the word Ki is “animation”. It is the way that you “animate” your mind, your awareness, your postures, your movements, your eyes, your breath etc. When you can co-ordinate these animations and function to your optimum, then you have Kiai. When you can do this continuously, then you are a person of Aiki.

This “it” factor that all the sportsmen rave about, that “moment” that everything just “becomes one” and they perform their best….. As Martial Artists we have understood that in the form of “Kiai” for generations!

My “Devils Advocate” friend says that is just awareness, concentration, co-ordination, training etc. And I say yes! Yes! Yes! Kiai! Of course it’s the same, we are speaking in different languages! It’s not just those things, it’s the way we “animate” them!

Of course these qualities can be separated, broken down, analysed and explained scientifically (apart from the “original life” thing, but let’s not get religious) but for our purposes “Ki” (or “animation”) covers it quite well.