help.......im new

Posted by: Anonymous

help.......im new - 06/21/04 12:26 AM

hey im new to this......i learned to meditate and i dont know if it works....well heres a list of things i need help with
1.how can i tell if the meditation works?
2. what can i think of while meditating to keep my mind from wandering?
3.what are some good foods to eat while im practicing meditation....any food that could help?
4. is there really such thing as exploding ki?
5. how can you measure your ki?
6. would meditating aroung certain plants or elements help me meditate better?...

well thx for helping.....

Re: help.......im new - 06/22/04 08:22 AM

n e 1?

Re: help.......im new - 06/26/04 07:48 PM

Hi,

It looks like your focus is completely off. Do not focus on the correct foods or thoughts. Try to focus on doing the correct exercise first. After much practice, you should know if it works for you or not. My advice would be that it is not working for you because you have to ask the quesiton if it works or not.

Exploding Ki...I do not know to how you are applying this. I would like you to explain what you mean by exploding ki.

As for correct thoughts. I've been told by several zen meditation "experts" to not focus on any specific thought. You should let the thoughts flow freely. The key is not attaching emotion to the thoughts. For example, if you decide to think about a time when you were embarassed in the third grade, do not let that memory bother you. Just acknowledge that you thought of that memory and let it go.

As far as foods go... It is really not important what you eat. I am sure if you get into advanced practices, food will have a vital role, but I will assume that you are not there yet.

Elements... If you are doing a chinese form of meditation, all the elements exist within you. Do not focus on what is going on outside. Focus on what is going on inside. At least for the beginning.