Qigong and Staring?

Posted by: Demonologist437

Qigong and Staring? - 08/28/08 01:10 AM

Perhaps an oddball question, but I wanted to ask people about something I find comes up now and again whenever I read/research anything about Qigong/meditation.

Occasionally, whatever ti is I am reading will mention something about "Not staring/sitting/standing/lying down" to an excesss when meditating/practicing Qigong. When I asked my instructor about this, he said "What does your common-sense tell you?". While I agree totally with that I notice also in some styles practice is meant to go on for thirty to forty-five minutes or more in a single posture, standing or sitting.

I'm a novice at Qigong, but it peaks my curiosity.

Excatly what timeframes would you consider the "too long" benchmark for staring/standing/sitting/lying down/etc when meditating/practicing Qigong?

In advance, I appreciate any replies.
Posted by: Zach_Zinn

Re: Qigong and Staring? - 08/28/08 01:29 AM

Quote:

Perhaps an oddball question, but I wanted to ask people about something I find comes up now and again whenever I read/research anything about Qigong/meditation.

Occasionally, whatever ti is I am reading will mention something about "Not staring/sitting/standing/lying down" to an excesss when meditating/practicing Qigong. When I asked my instructor about this, he said "What does your common-sense tell you?". While I agree totally with that I notice also in some styles practice is meant to go on for thirty to forty-five minutes or more in a single posture, standing or sitting.

Excatly what timeframes would you consider the "too long" benchmark for staring/standing/sitting/lying down/etc when meditating/practicing Qigong?

I'm generally a novice at this sort of training as well, but I would think that amount of zhan zhuang ( I think that's the term)for the purely still training would be 'advanced' at time frames of 45m or something.