19 year old w/ hip joint pain

Posted by: Anonymous

19 year old w/ hip joint pain - 01/25/05 07:49 PM

Im pretty new to the arts and have only been practicing since the beginning of my freshman year at the university i attend. Ive really gotten into pretty die-hard and train contantly. Currently I am training under two masters, one in teong long and the other in dragon kung fu. Coming off of running competively in high school for 4 years (12 seasons) I was naturally tight at first. And its taken me a while to get control of my legs. When i learned of the stadion technique on here about 3 weeks ago i started practicing this stretching every morning and night, along with kicks at night. And I have made significant improvements, now being able to kick head hieght. Problem is, ive started to get some sharp pains in my hip joints after doing the dynamic streches, enough that it affects me when i do kicks and movements afterward. The pain goes away, till i start kicking again in most cases, but i dont want it to affect my training and sparring.
does anybody know what i am talking about? I believe i am doing them correctly. Am i overtraining? I dont want to lay off, and I have not mentioned anything to either of my instructors yet b/c i dont want to show any weakness.

Re: 19 year old w/ hip joint pain - 02/05/05 08:13 AM

Just ask your instructor. If you have it, theres a significant chance he had it to, thirty years ago or what have you. And if you instructor believes asking questions to be a weakness, get a new teacher.

- Op. Skinny Ninja

Re: 19 year old w/ hip joint pain - 02/05/05 06:22 PM

Don't worry, it's not that bad. I'm 18 and have back pain (fell on a gate rail).
Posted by: MartinR

Re: 19 year old w/ hip joint pain - 02/25/05 10:10 AM

I've studied a handful of style of karate and TKD over the years - and kicking obviously is a large portion of it. However I seldom did the extremely high kicks which might be more damaging to one's own hip.