can't kick high

Posted by: Novice

can't kick high - 04/26/04 10:22 PM

I'm new to karate, in my mid 30s, pretty fit but lacking flexibility. I notice that my roudhouse kicks don't go as high as those of my fellow white belts. I can kick about chest height at the most. My questions: (a) should I be discouraged? (b) what is the best way to get myself kicking higher?

Appreciate your help.
Posted by: alan shindsharonjr

Re: can't kick high - 04/26/04 10:45 PM

There are many books and methods to increase flexability so I wont go into that.
some other factors you should consider is your body structure. In other words do you have any hip or lower back problems? What is your inseam?
Perhaps high kicks may not be your best weapon.
How powerful are your kicks to the stomach area. A powerful kick at that level can be more deadly then a glancing kick to the head. In other words there are a lot of factors to consider before you spend a lot of time working on something that may not be a good weapon for you.
good luck
Alan
Posted by: still wadowoman

Re: can't kick high - 04/27/04 01:47 AM

Hi Novice

Don't be discouraged. I was just turned 30 when I started in karate, and I am still here 10 years later. I have a student who did not start until 42 and heis a brown belt now.

I agree with Alan about the high kicks, they are not the be all and end all of karate, and very unlikely to be employed in a self defence situation. A poweful lower kick is definitely more useful.

It would be nice to be able to do both though, so ask you instructor to show you some safe stretching excercises to do at home and do a little every day.

Good luck, enjoy your training.
Sharon
Posted by: UKfightfreak

Re: can't kick high - 04/27/04 06:30 AM

if you go to www.stadion.com there is a free article on how to test you flexibility potential - this will tell you how far you can go.