Stretching and prenancy

Posted by: Brewer

Stretching and prenancy - 06/27/01 10:26 PM

Hello,
I was told that stretching while your hands are over head is bad because it has a tendency to tangle the embilical cord up.Any takers?
Your Brother in the Arts
Posted by: UKfightfreak

Re: Stretching and prenancy - 02/03/03 10:43 AM

I don't know about the tangle thing, it sounds unlikely, but I think you would be better to contact a doctor.

As for stretching generally in pregnancy it is advised to do so with some caution.

I cant remember the details but my Yoga instructor (who was pregnant at the time) was telling me that in pregnancy (I think in the last trimester) there are chemicals released in the body which promote flexibility - for obvious reasons, but these chemicals can also effect tendons etc. in regular stretching.

Please don't quote me on this I have no real knowledge on the subject but I thought it would be worth a mention.
Posted by: MrVigerous

Re: Stretching and prenancy - 02/05/03 05:42 PM

I believe you are correct, the hormone is called "relaxin".

Regds
Posted by: UKfightfreak

Re: Stretching and prenancy - 02/07/03 02:54 AM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by MrVigerous:
I believe you are correct, the hormone is called "relaxin".

Regds
[/QUOTE]

I thought you were joking, until I looked it up. [IMG]http://www.fightingarts.com/forums/ubb/smile.gif[/IMG]
Posted by: mark

Re: Stretching and prenancy - 03/06/03 08:44 AM

lol, yes "relaxin" i was very suprised when i heard that at the antinatal classes with my wife.

Wish i could buy a very large bottle of it, my flexibility could do with a boost..lol
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Stretching and prenancy - 04/09/03 02:04 PM

Hi Brewer, I researched this subject recently when a student of mine was pregnant.
I could find no info on the subject either from my governing body or the sports council so I did my own research.