Finally Got A Split

Posted by: WhiteDragon11

Finally Got A Split - 02/18/08 06:05 PM

I finally did my first split (left foot forwards). It took a LOT of stretching. However, it did not take much time altogether. Although I have been training for about 8-9 years, I never really focused on splits. This month though I worked on them and I got my first one down. I am getting really close with my right foot forward, just a matter of time (maybe a week or two).
I havent been able to work my straddles however, because I hurt my right hip sparring. This has prevented me from working on the straddles, the last week (not that long but still...).

So for everyone that thinks that they will never be able to do a split, maybe this can be an inspiration to you. Just put an effort to work on them and not get too lazy. Stretch while you watch tv, it really makes a use of time.
Good Luck!!!
Posted by: tingtong

Re: Finally Got A Split - 02/21/08 02:10 PM

what benefits does a split give you in martial arts?
Jason
Posted by: everyone

Re: Finally Got A Split - 02/21/08 05:16 PM

Techniques, attributes and skills all provide a martial artist with options. Yes, even the ability to do the splits widens the possibilities of what you can do. Specifically, this flexibility would help if someone hooks your leg and pulls your feet apart quickly. (This is done in some Chinese throws and sweeps.) Without exceptional flexibility a groin muscle is easily pulled in the process.

Also, kicking high is obviously improved with greater flexibility. Chances are you won’t be kicking the range of a full split. However if you can do the full split, you should be able to kick high without a warm-up. There are those who will argue that static flexibility does not translate into dynamic flexibility, but that has not been my experience. But it is my experience that dynamic doesn’t necessarily translate into static (off subject).