leg strengthening

Posted by: buggaluggs

leg strengthening - 10/23/05 07:24 PM

at the moment i use weights to increase my leg strength, it has worked slightly, im wondering does any1 no of any drills that can increase me leg power and height
Posted by: goju_girl

Re: leg strengthening - 10/23/05 09:36 PM

Hey there buggaluggs,
well I'm not really an expert or anything, but over the summer I did some leg work at my dojo, and alot of the techniques seemed to be bagua based (i.e. "walking")

Walking eh? Doesn't sound too tough right? Well try walking like this:
shrink yourself into neiko-ashi dachi stance, bring your back leg up (do not rise from your low stance) and as your leg comes up breathe in/bring your arms to about chest high, step down to a LOW zencoutzi-dachi and push/breathe out with your arms, and then repeat with the opposite leg. Do this VERY slowly.

Another one that I learned is very simple and only requires you to look like a total idiot if you were to ever do it in public. It should work your calves. go up on the tip-toes of one foot, then slowly lower yourself (but so your heel doesn't quite touch the floor) and walk while doing that so it would go: up-down right foot, step up-down left foot, ect. Both of these can be done with ankle weights if need be. I hope these help/you could understand what I'm saying! Good luck, and have fun
-Nikki
Posted by: ShaolinNinja

Re: leg strengthening - 10/23/05 10:54 PM

Do I know any leg strengthening drills? It seems like my whole life is leg strengthening drills! In Shaolin kung fu there's an abundance of gruelling leg strengthening methods, of which the staple is the horse stance: