3-bar type leg stretcher - how long for?

Posted by: TomUK

3-bar type leg stretcher - how long for? - 10/02/05 05:31 PM

Hi,

I searched, but couldn't find any advice regarding this. Today I got given a 3-bar style leg stretcher. I have been doing MAs for about 6 months now, and wanted to look to improve felxibility, and someone got this for me.

I have ordered a copy of "Stretching Scientifically", and have poked about this site a bit, but failed to find any advice on how long I should use the stretcher for at any one time.

Is there a minimum time to get any benefit? Is there a maximum time when there will be no more benefit, but possible damage?

Currently - my belief is I should warm up a little. Use the stretcher for 20-40 minutes (watch a TV show or something), slightly increasing the stretch over the period. Then slowly release the stretch and relax. Is this about right?

Thanks.
Posted by: MattJ

Re: 3-bar type leg stretcher - how long for? - 10/02/05 07:33 PM

Greetings TomUK.

There are many different types of stretching routines (static, ballistic, etc), and different ways to approach similar stretching routines.

The way that you mentioned is a good way to do it. Many MA people use a similar routine. I do not think there is any risk of damage from the times you mentioned, as long as you do not exceed a safe stretching angle.

Re: 3-bar type leg stretcher - how long for? - 10/03/05 09:30 AM

Thanks for the quick reply!

Yes, I got a little overwhelmed with all the stretching terminology from look through the forums. Hopefully the book I ordered will help me understand it all.

Thanks again.
Posted by: JasonM

Re: 3-bar type leg stretcher - how long for? - 10/03/05 09:32 AM