How to transition to another martial art?

Posted by: KeyDoe

How to transition to another martial art? - 06/21/12 02:25 PM

Hello everyone.

I have been studying Muay Thai for about 5 years. I loved every second of it. Recently, over the past 10 years, I have had to go inactive due to personal and financial reasons, and I haven't been able to train for that long. It has been some time.

Over that time, I did do some research on different martial arts, and I came across a WuShu school in my area. I am interested in learning that martial art, but I do have an issue.

I feel that I have so much more to learn in Muay Thai. I got to black belt, but I feel there is so much more that I can learn.

I don't have the finances to be paying for both WuShu and Muay Thai classes. Not only that, but I would feel like I wasted my entire time training in Muay Thai just to switch to a different martial art. I liked Muay Thai, and I would love to return, but WuShu interests me a bit more now that I am older.

I just... I would feel that since I am a black belt in Muay Thai, a transition to a new martial art would be so much... well... it would be weird. I would have to start from white belt all over again, and I feel like I am giving up on more Muay Thai training that I can do. I would love to return to Muay Thai as well, but I don't have the money for it.

How do you all face transitions? Does starting from white belt over again have an affect on you like it does me? I would be a complete beginner in a new style, and all the 5 years I dedicated to Muay Thai, I would feel like it was a waste of time now if I don't return.
Posted by: iaibear

Re: How to transition to another martial art? - 06/22/12 12:07 AM

I switched from Iaido to Aikido and started from white belt again.

It goes with the switch.

You have not lost anything. You would be gaining new.
Posted by: Prizewriter

Re: How to transition to another martial art? - 06/22/12 05:25 AM