Which style to choose?

Posted by: HuzzaH

Which style to choose? - 03/12/10 11:00 PM

Hey guys.

I'm very new to the whole fighting scene, and could use some help.

I don't want to kick anyone's ass, but I'd like to stop someone if they tried to hurt me or someone close.

A main reason why I want to train a style is because my stamina is very weak and I'd like to hold my own if something were to come up.

I want to increase my reaction rate to be able to block effectively (defensive).

I don't have the money or much time to go to an actual school as I'm a college student with much going on, but I'd like to start to build a foundation for this.

I know I'm being pretty vague as I am new, so any help would be effective.

Thanks in advance.
Posted by: Prizewriter

Re: Which style to choose? - 03/13/10 05:45 AM

Hello and welcome.

Most colleges have some sort of MA classes or club. It may be worth asking around. Additionally, as these are groups for students, they tend to be pretty cheap or free.

Regarding increasing stamina, it would probably be better to go with a more sports orientated system, as this would give you a better work out. That said, even traditional systems that don't spar/compete can still give a person a solid workout.

Also try looking out for fitness classes based around MA, such as Boxercise or Tae Bo.

Failing all that, try contacting people in your college (via a forum or notice board) asking for people with MA experience who might want to train together.

FAILING ALL OF THAT, you can improve your overall health and fitness by running (or cycling, or swimming etc....), work on strength conditioning (by using weights or body weight exercises etc....) and stretching (look up sports stretching, or Pilates, or Yoga etc...).