Video Game Industry

Posted by: TeK9

Video Game Industry - 06/05/07 03:49 PM

I am a recent college graduate who is looking to get into the video game industry. Does anyone here have experience in this industry?
Posted by: shadowkahn

Re: Video Game Industry - 06/05/07 05:40 PM

http://www.rpgamer.com/features/tommint.html
Posted by: Dereck

Re: Video Game Industry - 06/05/07 05:43 PM

No but good luck with that, that certain is an industry that is doing well for itself. To think of how many people like myself play video games. I'm currently waiting for the release of Assassin's Creed for the X-Box 360 ... that is going to be wicked.
Posted by: Cord

Re: Video Game Industry - 06/05/07 05:50 PM

I have a very good friend who is an animator for an online fantasy game. His background is graphic design and fine art, having first class honours degrees in both, the computer coding and stuff he learned through personal interest and on the job development.
Posted by: Leo_E_49

Re: Video Game Industry - 06/05/07 08:30 PM

Check out www.gamedev.net. The professionals post there. A word of warning, it's tough competition to get into the games industry. You're best working on a small game project with a group of people as a demo to show potential employers. Look into game modding for some experience. Here's something I made with my team which is a good example of a game demo which could get you into the short-list of a game developer job application: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ACWjTFrGy18 and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uzUlbyBDnhE. You don't necessarily need something like that, it takes a while to learn the skills necessary to develop games in 3D but starting out with something like Tetris or a Counterstrike Source map is a good idea.