Rocks

Posted by: Saisho

Rocks - 12/27/06 02:47 PM

My 8 year old daughter has developed a fascination with rocks over the past year. She wants to be a geologist when she grows up.

It crossed my mind today that some of you from areas a bit away from Ohio, USA might be willing and able to mail some small rocks from your neck of the woods.

I have not looked into it at all, so I don't know how possible it is, but I would think a small enough rock could be put into a regular envelope.

If anyone thinks they could do this, let me know and I will give you my address.

(My 200th post and it is about rocks of all things)
Posted by: rideonlythelabel

Re: Rocks - 12/27/06 05:28 PM

You should have asked two months ago when the soil wasn't frozen...
Posted by: clmibb

Re: Rocks - 12/27/06 06:17 PM

Do they have to be rocks from Ohio? I'm a geology student (I'm taking my core classes right now and will be starting my geology classes in about a year or so. There is lime stone here and a few others (I'll have to look it up). I also have a website that has pictures of different rock formations if she is interested.

Casey

Re: Rocks - 12/27/06 08:56 PM

The rocks would not have to be any specific types or special in any way. As an 8 year old with ambitions of studying rocks when she grows up, I think knowing she has rocks that are from other places (even if the same kind can be found in Ohio) would be one of the coolest things.

Hey Ride, I am sure it will eventually warm up in Canada. I was there for training last July and it was darn near hot!

Re: Rocks - 12/28/06 12:18 PM

I think I have a rose quartz somewhere here at home if she wants it. I'll also go rock hunting. There are many areas of geology to study (kinda like saying your going to be a doctor, there's oncologists, podietrists, pediatricians....) I personally plan to go into the oil industry after I get my Batchlor's degree. Just to let you know. Oh I think I have a purple rock too (forgot the name) if you want it.