Muay Thai - training at two gyms

Posted by: Wishful

Muay Thai - training at two gyms - 03/15/10 08:26 PM

Hi

I have a bit of a problem and am hoping with your responses to clarify my own thoughts on what I should do about it.

I'm training Muay Thai at two different gyms. Where I live Muay Thai is relatively small (about 8 clubs in the region, 4 of which are in the area I live in) and these clubs could be seen as rivals. Not huge rivals, but rivals none the less. Last night I got called a traitor for going to the second gym. This hurt alot....and I'm wondering if the are right?

One of the gyms I train at is the place where I started learning Muay Thai. I have been there for almost 4.5 years and this is the club I have and hopefully will continue to fight for. I do like the club and the people in it MOST of the time. This is my main gym.

I started training at another club also in the same martial art. This is because:

[list]
[*]They offered more training opportunities that fitted my work schedule. I'm working really hard towards a promotion so I have done a lot of late nights. These late nights have cut into my training time at my main gym. The other gym fortunately has lunch classes I can go to.

I can't run due to a knee injury sustained from training at my main gym. I can knee, kick and all that other good stuff but running is out of the question. Also I hate bike and other cardio machines so for fitness sake I joined to get fight fit. I love hitting pads and bag and stuff so this to me was awesome since I love it so much. I did this in my lunchtimes.

Their head trainer is a former Lumpini and Ramadeen Stadium champion in two different weight grades in Thailand. His experience and knowledge is awesome. I saw training with him as a great way to learn some new things. I did learn quite a few things and already my kick have improved alot.