Defending against the foot jab / teep?

Posted by: Walk

Defending against the foot jab / teep? - 05/30/09 05:25 AM

Hello,

I've just started muay thai and find that in light sparring i always get hit by the foot jab or teep. How do i defend against this? I was told a few ways but still find it difficult and can't get to grips with them. Often i find i block only to get a jab in the face.

I'm just a beginner and am probably getting it wrong, but if anyone has any links etc to show how to block/avoid it it'd be really helpful and would really help me progress. I was surprised how hard it was to search for this on google.

Anyway thank you.
Posted by: TheCrab

Re: Defending against the foot jab / teep? - 05/30/09 03:50 PM

foot jab? like a light roundhouse?

just block it with your closest leg, if not, dont worry about it. just dont flinch massively or youll get decked.

if this is completely the wrong thing ten I apoligise haha
Posted by: Taison

Re: Defending against the foot jab / teep? - 05/31/09 01:49 AM

Teep; thrust kick. It's a straight kick done by cocking your leg up and thrusting it forward hitting with the ball of your feet.

Defense? Same technique to his other leg. This is one of those basic techniques that is really good because it is indeed like the jab. Not much you can do about them beside proper footwork.

Use circular movements around your opponent. If you notice, the most dominant thai boxers always occupy the center of the ring. Why? He's not strategically at an advantage. He's just slow. To align the teep properly, you sacrifice some co-ordination and balance. Imagine if your target was always going to your sides, never standing infront of you.

Use good footwork.