me on the bag...

Posted by: ashe_higgs

me on the bag... - 05/18/07 03:17 AM

just thought i'd throw this up for the hell of it.

this is just the last minute and a half or so of a 15 min workout on the bag.

a) it was around 100º F so sorry for the lack of a shirt. maybe i should stop eating Twinkies on the weekends.

b) my bag is A BRICK at the bottom so i know the front kicks are lame.

c) i know i keep a loose guard, i'm not really concerned about it. my guard is really in the sticky hand method, so i just use the bag for power and some footwork, etc.

other than that, pointers are always welcome!
Posted by: Tom2199

Re: me on the bag... - 05/18/07 09:52 AM

Im no kung fu expert but from what you can see it looks like your footwork needs improving especially when circling the bag and striking.
Posted by: Cord

Re: me on the bag... - 05/18/07 11:23 AM

Ashe, I have zero experience of Kung Fu, so can only come at a critique from the angle of a boxer/kickboxer- I am not sure that would be fair or usefull to you, so I will ask some questions instead

1. You stand very 'square on' with little head and torso mobility- is this related to 'sticky hands' and the inherent nature of your art?

2. You do not seem to engage the hips/core in your strikes, they seem to come from your shoulders/arms- is that particular to your art, or are you using your biomechanics inherent in your kung fu resulting in the visible signs of said power generation being different to traditional hip/core engagement associated with western boxing?

You still look like Tank Abbott (in the face, not the gut )
Posted by: Taison

Re: me on the bag... - 05/18/07 11:52 AM

Could you maybe put it up on video.google?

As of April 3rd, The ministry of communication and technology has blocked www.youtube.com in Thailand, so I can't view youtube.com at all.

Put that's only if you want me to check out your moves

-Taison out
Posted by: grumbleweed

Re: me on the bag... - 05/18/07 11:59 AM