Kickboxing 101

Posted by: Yan1978

Kickboxing 101 - 07/02/06 08:23 PM

Im new to Kickboxing and am looking for a school in the Montreal area. Im trying H2O Academy tommorow for the first time, they offer a free class as a tryout. Not having any experience in the area i was hoping some of you could give me a few pointers, things to look for in a good school/workout, so i can get a good idea of how good the class actually is before i shell out 450$ for a year.

Also, im 6'4" 220 pounds in good muscular shape, i weight train 3 times a week and practice difrerent sports (Snowboard, Tennis). I have great strenght, decent agility, decent cardio and poor flexibility, which i will have to work on i know. Is kickboxing a good martial art for tall and big people? I often heard that strenght and range were important in boxing. Last thing, i have back problems, mostly sciatica getting pinched or completely stuck, my lower back is my main weakness. There are a number of things i can't do at the gym because of that, anything that requires my back being at 90 degrees is out of the question. I was hoping Kickboxing classes would help me streghten my lower back and gain some flexibility, but could it be a problem? Is this a bad sport for the lower back impaired?

Any info would be greatlly appreciated.
Thanks

Posted by: Leo_E_49

Re: Kickboxing 101 - 07/02/06 09:02 PM

Quote:

so i can get a good idea of how good the class actually is before i shell out 450$ for a year.

Wow, that seems like a pretty expensive Dojo to me. Although, I've heard tell of worse in the states. I've been told I'm just good at finding low cost, high value Dojos though, so I may be a little biased.

Quote:

Also, im 6'4" 220 pounds in good muscular shape, i weight train 3 times a week and practice difrerent sports (Snowboard, Tennis). I have great strenght, decent agility, decent cardio and poor flexibility, which i will have to work on i know. Is kickboxing a good martial art for tall and big people?