first MT class

Posted by: LiLJb72

first MT class - 02/21/06 09:59 PM

I had my first MT class tonight, i am a traditional jiu jitsu fighter, but figured picking up striking would be good for self defense as well as maybe eventual competition...It was really fun but not quite what i expected. We just kind of paired off and did combos/blocks...i mean i learned a lot, but i have a feeling to master this in 1 hr classes is going to take a decade
Posted by: Taison

Re: first MT class - 02/21/06 10:05 PM

Change class ASAP. The type of MT training you should get should be more along this line;

2 hours class. Class begins with cardio like rope and pad work. Then techniques for 30 minutes followed with semi-contact sparring [semi contact in MT is full contact with protection]. Then you should get more Cardio and call that a good evening.

You should be exhausted every time you get back from training, if that's not what happens, you should reflect if you did all you could or was it the gym.

I hope they have a proper set up ring, 5-6 sandbags with equipments like pads and safety gears.

-Taison out
Posted by: MattJ

Re: first MT class - 02/22/06 01:13 PM

My understanding was that many MT schools do not have the beginners sparring right away, so I am not sure that this is an immediate red flag. There should be a lot of conditioning and bag/pad work, though.

I would suggest talking to some of the other students to find out what the normal progression is at that school.

Re: first MT class - 02/22/06 04:26 PM

We warmed up but not for long, maybe 5 minutes...then went into techniques...they offer a beginners class at 630-730 and mixed lvl/advanced from 730-830...you cant spare until they think you are ready..they have two rings, and tons of bags and thai pads...it is $125/mo for military for as many times as you want to go...does that sound about right to you guys?

Re: first MT class - 02/23/06 01:33 AM