How relaxed is your grappling?

Posted by: Prizewriter

How relaxed is your grappling? - 10/02/08 05:14 PM

We have all heard it at some point in any martial arts class. The instructor tells us to relax. Easier said than done for most of us! To quote a Japanese Sword master from a film "You can tell a man to relax, but you can be sure he won't"

I have come to believe that relaxation is essential in grappling. It conserves energy, makes you harder to move, and less likely to get injured (my experience). I have a hard time mastering it (maybe because I am "trying" lol!), but I noticed a lot of other folks do to. Even senior grapplers with many years of experience seem tense.

I was wondering, how relaxed are you when grappling (physically and mentally)?

I got thinking on this after watching this Sombo Clip. As is noted, the guy with the long hair seems very relaxed:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Flk_kRSlEs
Posted by: Aesir

Re: How relaxed is your grappling? - 10/02/08 05:27 PM

I dunno when I grapple (only just started) I am very relaxed (or so I think) and alot of young people who I train with just seem to be more relaxed when rolling than some of the older guys there.

I am quite light compared to everyone else there so I know there is noway I am going to do anything just by muscling through it so I just sort of lay there and wait for them to slip up.

Of course most of the time this doesn't matter as they will submit me anyway but it works alot better than powering my way through and resisting everything they do.

Bottomline I think the younger you are the easier it is for you to be taught to relax, older people tend to just find it harder.

But what really helps me relax is just thinking of what I am going to do next and not really concentrating too much on the present situation, if that makes any sense.
Posted by: everyone

Re: How relaxed is your grappling? - 10/02/08 05:31 PM