mma/bjj with bodybuilding?

Posted by: kumite99

mma/bjj with bodybuilding? - 03/31/07 04:43 PM

I have been taking bjj for about a few months now. Currently i am taking a break as i have exams (important ones) and must devote my time to that.
I will return to training in a few months however, and will also begin training with weights, which i'm not new to but just have stopped currently.
I've never done both bjj and bodybuilding before, and when i say lifting weights i don't simply mean conditioning or sport specific training, but a full bodybuilders routine, training for hypertrophy.
Are these two compatible- i mean that considering the time you devote to bodybuilding, can you train bjj as well? What the boggest issue is here is recovery- say i train my legs on Monday, that means they will have to be rested all of that day, and will be knackered for two days after. By training all body parts this means at least one part of me will be sore everyday.
Does the activity of BJJ prevent muscle recovery when sore and therefore stop its growth? Also, will being sore from lifting mean you cant train bjj properly?
I presume many will be knowldegeable on a subject like this, replies will be greatly appreciated, thanks.
Posted by: Cord

Re: mma/bjj with bodybuilding? - 03/31/07 05:13 PM

There is no reason why you cannot develop muscle mass and practice MA's. You only have to look at Jeff Monson, matt hughes, Randy Couture, and others to see that mucularity can be maintained with no detriment to your MA performance.
For how to balance everything, I would head over to the strength forum and raise the topic there, or PM 'Dereck' who not only trains a 3 day bodybuilding split, but also rolls and competes in grappling competitions- he will fill you in on the realities of the limitations you are setting yourself, and the advantages that his training has afforded him.