What protective equipment do you use?

Posted by: flgator

What protective equipment do you use? - 03/15/06 02:48 PM

I'm pretty new to BJJ and I'm just starting to do some sparring. I bought a mouthpiece but haven't used it yet. Some guys in class wear cups. One or two wear earprotectors. What do you guys typically wear for BJJ sparring? I'd rather get some advice now than find out the hard way that I should have been using some of this stuff.
Posted by: Diabolic

Re: What protective equipment do you use? - 03/15/06 04:33 PM

Im new to BJJ also and I am thinking about using a mouthpeice and thats about it. I use kneepads now though. Some Gi's have some light ones built into them and they work fine if you dont spar everyday. If you are going to spar everyday it can really do a toll on your knees so protect em. I dont see the need for a cup or headgear.
Posted by: Dereck

Re: What protective equipment do you use? - 03/15/06 05:55 PM

Have a cup but will only use if doing a tremendous amount of groundwork as I find it digs in too much. It is a hockey cup so maybe if they design one specifically for grappling I would certainly take a look at it. When doing armbars if you don't get in close enough (and you should), then your opponents elbow is right on your groin and without the cup it can really be bad news. Also all of that rolling around it wasn't until recently that I got kneed twice that I even considered wearing one.

I also have the mouth guard but will only use when we do full contact from stand up, to take down, to grappling and ground 'n pound. Otherwise unless you compete it may not be needed.

Knees have never bothered me so have never considered pads. Did some long day classes where many had sore knees and said they were going to wear them next time but "so far" I have not felt I needed them.
Posted by: JKogas

Re: What protective equipment do you use? - 03/15/06 06:08 PM