?

Posted by: PierrePressure

? - 07/02/05 08:12 PM

Ok, maybe this is a dumb question, but I'm kinda new to martial arts (only like a year). My question is this: is your school considered a mixed martial arts school if all types of martial arts are taught? My school says on the sign that it teaches karate, but my instructor doesn't believe that any one style is totally well-rounded (that's his opinion. I have very limited exposure to multiple other styles, so I don't have my own opinion yet), so he incorporates elements of capoeira, hapkido, taekwondo, aikido, etc. so we can be well-rounded fighters. So are we actually a mixed martials arts school?
-PierrePressure
Posted by: butterfly

Re: ? - 07/02/05 09:40 PM

Pierre,

I was going to use "PP" but that didn't quite sound correct. What you have stated is an honest question, but I am not sure it is 100% accurate to describe your school this way as normally what is meant by MMA (though it could legitimately mean this).

Generally, from what I would consider MMA there is a preponderance of three styles of MAs that are mixed to utilize the ranges that they cover: Ground fighting coming from BBJ; Muay Thai for clinch and kicks; and Boxing for punching. These are mixed so that there is a cohesive strategy to utilize certain techniques in certain ranges so it is a very organic art, compared to adding this to that from disparate MAs and hoping you are accomplishing the same thing.

What MMAs generally tries to go for is to use resistive sporting styles that have proven training records for accomplishing certain goals and producing a training paradigm that uses these training methods to educate the student. So no kata, lots of bag/pad work and partner training is a must. While, one can mix different MAs...this is not the same, in my opinion, as mixed martial arts.

In any case, I consider myself mostly a karate guy, though I study BJJ to fill gaps in my game and knowledge.

Just some thoughts.

-B
Posted by: JKogas