Ankle/ Foot Locks

Posted by: Fletch1

Ankle/ Foot Locks - 07/02/05 03:01 AM

At what point did you start training Foot and Ankle Locks?

If you are a coach, when do you allow your stedents to work with them? Any restrictions?

I knew them from the start but my Brazilian Instructors never taught them and would only occasionally use them in class. I learned my Lower Body stuff almost exclusively from my coach, Luis. His students used to heelhook me all over the mat.

I will teach my new guys straight ankle locks. We will drill heelhooks after they have game with that basic lock. I do not allow heelhooks when we roll.
Posted by: Ubermint

Re: Ankle/ Foot Locks - 07/02/05 04:03 AM

I did them from day one, as they are done at my BJJ school.
Posted by: JKogas

Re: Ankle/ Foot Locks - 07/02/05 08:24 AM

I started with leg locks from day one as well. It took me years to develop functionality with them however. Timing is the big issue (as it is with anything).

As a coach I don't know if I would teach them right away or as Fletch said, limit what you DO teach (not teaching the heel hook or allowing it during the rolling).

The conservative game is almost always the best approach for the developing guys. Learn to pass the guard and obtain a more secure position on the torso. To me, that's the conservative approach. When people have some game at controlling position somewhat, you could show a few leg locks from within the guard. Leg locks can change the course of a fight quickly. A person skilled in them can get a quick finish or conversely, can get himself/herself into some quick trouble.

Overall, it's a good idea to develop a person's positional game before anything else. After that is coming along, leg locks can add another diminsion to his/her game.

Since it's just training, I don't see anything wrong with allowing people to fight for an achilles lock during rolling or isolation training.

-John
Posted by: MattJ

Re: Ankle/ Foot Locks - 07/02/05 09:44 AM