What is Chi used for in Xing Yi Quan?

Posted by: Prizewriter

What is Chi used for in Xing Yi Quan? - 02/04/08 07:10 AM

Upon reading a bit more about Bak Mei Gong Fu, I came across something relating to use of Chi in the art. Chi is used as a weapon, rather than for other purposes e.g. healing...

I am slightly curious as to it's use in Xing Yi Quan/Hsing. Is Chi used as a weapon, or does it have other uses in the system? I know there are various styles of Xing Yi, and that variations may apply within indivdual styles/schools, but what is the general use?

Many thanks for any help! I am a serious noob re CMA, so apologies if my ignorance shows!
Posted by: Vennificus

Re: What is Chi used for in Xing Yi Quan? - 02/05/08 02:48 PM

I'm not quite sure about the martial arts and how it applies, but chi is often considered (edited to cover my a$$) energy, and can do just as much harm as good.
Posted by: Demonologist437

Re: What is Chi used for in Xing Yi Quan? - 02/09/08 11:12 PM

I am almost a year student of Hsing-I Chuan and have a very open and friendly instructor when it comes to curious types like me, and have actually asked HIM the same question. I'll try to relate best what he explained to me, as the ever enigmatic "Qi" applications are concerned!

Basically, Chi in Hsing-I and most CMA when realistically applied in training is cultivating a more fine and quiet sense of your body so that when you want to get that extra "squeeze" out of your punch, you can.

A guy named Dr. yang-Jwing Ming in one of his books on Taiji said(or quoted someone else, I cannot remember exactly...) that "Where there is Yi(mind) there is Chi, and where there is Chi there is Blood."