an introduction and what we do

Posted by: northstar

an introduction and what we do - 05/02/07 01:24 PM

Hi guys -- I'm new here. I've visited these boards now and then in the past when I research stuff and get a link to a post, but here I am proper with a username and stuff, haha.

I'm curious about the posters in this particular forum (being a Chinese stylist myself). What does each person practise ? For how long ? Thoughts ? Why do people practise what they do ? Are they more interested in contemporary performance ? Or the gritty, hard and bitter training of real fighting Chinese arts ?

I've only been practising for about 6 years, began with a few months of wushu then moved countries (Australia to New Zealand) and found a master from with whom I studied a blend of northern shaolin on a staple of tan tui and a few yin qin/mi zong forms.

No longer with that school, I have been breaking down a couple of forms into single movements, etc. mainly tan tui and lien zou duan da. I also practise single moves that I've favourited and feel are effective for entering, etc.

I have just moved to Australia but before I did I had been training traditional shuai jiao and qin na, very intensive and painful and sorely missed. Trying to find people to practise with before I forget too much of it.

Why do I train ? Self defense, trying to perfecting oneself, psychological, fighting ....

Please post about yourself !
Posted by: ashe_higgs

Re: an introduction and what we do - 05/03/07 02:32 AM

troll?
Posted by: Tashigae

Re: an introduction and what we do - 05/03/07 09:26 AM

Hi there, Northstar.

Welcome to the board; nice to meet you.

Okay, here's my background.
I only recently moved to Chinese styles. My first contact with martial arts was through capoeira, then I swapped it for jujutsu (that's when I joined the forum two years ago, hence the Japanese sounding pseudonym), and at last Chinese MA, not quite two years ago.