An Introduction to China and Hawaii's Martial Arts

Posted by: lchow

An Introduction to China and Hawaii's Martial Arts - 03/04/07 06:19 PM

This post and others will be found in the following forums, as I feel that this would be the most appropriate place for such postings:

Fighting Arts Forum
Martial Arts Topics
1. Karate
2. Kung Fu/Chinese Arts forum

AN INTRODUCTION TO CHINA AND TO CHINESE MARTIAL ARTS AS FOLLOWS:

Hi, my name is Lester D.K. Chow. I am 58 years old and one of many of Professor William Kwai Sun Chow's relatives. Professor Chow is the founder of Kara-Ho style of martial arts. As a child I was taught Tai Chi for exercise (not for sparing, nor for self-defense), when I would go over to my grandmother's house. I worked as a political consultant in New York (I no longer live there) and I am back home in Hawaii.

My objective in the martial arts, presently, is to get to know as many people as possible interested in Kungfu and in ancient Chinese martial arts styles.

I have, also, taken a keen and very deep interest in the style of my second-uncle, Professor William Kwai Sun Chow, and in anything connected with him (Kempo, Kenpo, Karate, Kara-Ho, etc).

Professor Chow was not accepted by Hawaii's local Chinese community, because he was not pure Chinese. So, he was not taught Kungfu, neither did his father and grandfather practice Kungfu, contrary to what my uncle had previously claimed.

My grandfather's name is Shaolin, he was named after the village in China where he was born, as he was expected to be the head of our fanily and village, coming from China's most prominent family, roots, and traditional 4,000 years of a Chinese heritage. This is our family's and the Professor's claim to fame.