Shoulder tension in wing chun

Posted by: ShikataGaNai

Shoulder tension in wing chun - 08/31/06 03:56 PM

I posted this in the health forum already, but thought I might get a more apropriate answer here - so sorry for cross posting.
Anyway, I pinched a nerve in my shoulder years ago and to this day I have some tension issues with it. Anyone who sparred me in boxing always remarked about how I kept it elevated over the other one due to the tension. Now that I'm doing chi sao, it is imperative that I remedy this problem. Does anyone here think acupuncture would be the way to go or have similar experience/advice? Thanks. This is really killing my sticking hands and driving me crazy.
Posted by: BaguaMonk

Re: Shoulder tension in wing chun - 09/16/06 07:19 AM

Relying on shoulder during any sort of sensitivity drill is not a good idea. This is a big mistake wing chung guys do, they use shoulder tension to keep their arms stiff so the punches glance their arms. In Taiji, as a beginner, I did same thing. Eventually Peng (ward off energy) will become natural and you don't need shoulder tension.

I would suggest Zhan Zhuang, and lots of stretching and movement. I suppose you could go to Acupuncturist. But I would see what you can do, try to disperse the tension. Rub it, slap it, stretch it, do some bagua, chi gong, whatever

Re: Shoulder tension in wing chun - 09/17/06 06:14 PM

That figures. Chi Gong has proven to be my achilles heal. Thanks.
Posted by: donchisau

Re: Shoulder tension in wing chun - 11/04/06 12:13 PM

The problem is easily corrected by a qualified Sifu. Who is your instructor and have you asked him to fix the problem ?
It has nothing to do with what most call Chi Kung at all.

Re: Shoulder tension in wing chun - 11/08/06 11:43 AM

It's actually working itself out after hours and hours of chi sao. Thanks
Posted by: MarkoCain

Re: Shoulder tension in wing chun - 11/20/06 04:42 AM