Kwan Ying Do????

Posted by: eagleone

Kwan Ying Do???? - 08/13/06 09:43 PM

Hello, I am currently a student under the Long Fist style and I've been looking for a kwoon that's more locally suited for travel purposes and the only one I could find trains in Kwan Ying Do and Yang's Taichichuan the sifu is a student of the creator of the art Feeman Ong. Is anyone familiar with Kwan Ying Do and how effective and practical it is??? I read that it's a combination art developed by Feeman Ong and it contains methods from Long Fist, White Brow, Yang's Taichichuan, and Baguazhang. I'm looking for some serious opinions because I don't want to waste my money on a "fake" or impractical style.
Posted by: Victor Smith

Re: Kwan Ying Do???? - 08/14/06 02:35 PM

Friend,

Where might you reside? That would be helpful in trying to answer your question.

Re: Kwan Ying Do???? - 08/14/06 03:18 PM

wadsworth ohio.

Re: Kwan Ying Do???? - 08/14/06 03:25 PM

Quote:

Friend,

Where might you reside? That would be helpful in trying to answer your question.

are you familiar with Kwan Ying Do? I don't know if I should enroll at the kwoon I'm looking at because I'm not sure how authentic Kwan Ying Do is.
Posted by: Victor Smith

Re: Kwan Ying Do???? - 08/14/06 08:53 PM

Eagleone,

First I did a search of Cleveland. I'm not sure of the distance but they have very, very, very credible training at the various Wing Lam Kung Fu schools.

Here's one of their locations (216) 431-4991 5100 Saint Clair Ave Cleveland, OH 44103

While not Long Fist they are a Northern System and there will be similarities. If you call them they will likely know all of the potential Chinese schools in your area, or can refer you to someone who does.

I do have a friend who teaches in Pittsburgh, Pa, but that's further away. He teaches Northern Eagle Claw (Ying Jow Pai) - I did an article on this site about that system, Yang and Wu Tai Chi Chaun.