About a school.....

Posted by: KDHPP

About a school..... - 07/30/06 03:58 AM

I'm relatively new to the world of martial arts(I did a bit of Karate when I was younger) and I'm really interested in Kung Fu. I was wondering if anyone here is familiar with the Bei Shaolin Kung Fu Institute(Memphis and Chicago). If you do, is it worth checking the place out. I know the school creed, but their site doesn't say much about the school....

???
Posted by: Derik

Re: About a school..... - 07/30/06 04:09 AM

go in there and watch a few classes, watch about 6 classes and take notes on what you see and how his class is ran and you should be able to tell if its for you, i sure wish I did that

Re: About a school..... - 07/30/06 04:16 AM

Well, they are giving one week of classes for free coming up.....that sounds better than watching, but I wish I knew more about the instructors(only says a name on the site)
Posted by: IExcalibui2

Re: About a school..... - 07/30/06 04:20 AM

sure take the weekw worth of classes and see what you think of it and such and such. If you like it then continue on. If you dont try to see if there are other kungfu schools out there if kungfu is what you want.
Posted by: Fisherman

Re: About a school..... - 07/30/06 09:18 AM

What is the site?

Re: About a school..... - 07/31/06 07:53 AM

www.memphiskungfu.com

edited to fix link
Posted by: ShikataGaNai

Re: About a school..... - 07/31/06 10:28 AM

I don't know. I thought the "student creed" was a little too dogmatic. You might want to treat this one with caution if you're not into the religion.

Re: About a school..... - 07/31/06 11:24 AM

Well said ShikataGaNai
Posted by: ButterflyPalm

Re: About a school..... - 08/01/06 07:34 AM

One week of free sweat wouldn't hurt.

Bei Shaolin simply means North (Bei, as in Beijing) Shaolin. It is such a wide term it can mean almost anything. You need to start somewhere I suppose.

Good Luck; sad that you need luck to learn MA these days.