beginner classes

Posted by: jdl508

beginner classes - 02/06/06 12:42 PM

let me start by saying i am an absolute beginner and mean no disrespect to anyone if I come off that way. I have tried a few schools trial plans in the last couple of months (karate, brazilian jiu jiutsu and wing chun kung fu). Having said that my main desire is self defense. Of course every school I go to swear by there form of self defense making it even more dificult for the novice. Originally I was sold on BJJ but recently after seeing a UFC show I tried to think of how realisic that would be in real life. It didnt seem likely. I can't picture myself instantly going to the ground in a fight. I am torn right now between BJJ and Kung Fu and need to sign a 1 year contract so I am trying to make sure which may be better for me. I am starting to come to the conclusion that I should just take something I will enjoy because I have a greater chance of sticking with it, and hope for the best when it comes to self defense as you can't know it all. I guess Im just trying to find the best bet for me. I'm not a 'fighter' so this is not necessarilly natural for me. Any thoughts out there on this. Thanks in advance.
Posted by: oldman

Re: beginner classes - 02/06/06 04:14 PM

Quote:

I am starting to come to the conclusion that I should just take something I will enjoy because I have a greater chance of sticking with it, and hope for the best when it comes to self defense as you can't know it all.

It might be good to take some time to accurately assess what threats you are actually at the most risk of experiencing. What are the odds that you will be involved in a carjacking? what are the chances you will be robbed at gunpoint? Do you work late hours at a convienience store. Do you live in gang territory? do you live in the suburbs? Do you drink alchohol? Do you go to bars regularly? Are you involved in an extra-marital affair? Are you male or female? Do you ride public transportation?