Sanchin breathing

Posted by: karate-do

Sanchin breathing - 10/27/04 04:37 PM

Could someone with personal experience of Sanchin breathing please explain this to me? I practice Shotokan karate so im not so fortunate as to be taught it like a Goju Ryu practitioner

Re: Sanchin breathing - 11/10/04 10:49 AM

nobody here can explain?
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Sanchin breathing - 11/10/04 09:20 PM

Ever study seisan the breathing is similier, deep slow breathing is how I do the Kata I'm not to fond of sanchin I prefer Kanku dai and chibana Kusanku.

[This message has been edited by AgenT (edited 11-10-2004).]

Re: Sanchin breathing - 11/12/04 12:42 PM

can you explain seisan in more depth?
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Sanchin breathing - 11/13/04 12:49 AM

Ok in the system of Karate I studied Seisan is a power kata. The whole body remains tense thoughout the kata, every muscle. Breathing is done deep like you were doing a powerblock. Breathing on strikes is very forcefull often completely emptying the lungs completely of air. The main concept in this kata is dynamic tension and defensive breathing incase you get hit. It also puts emphasis on strengh. It is alot like a tiger style kata. Powerfull forcefull movements designed to break right though blocks and defenses. Kanku Dai and Kusanku are the oppisite of seisan they use relaxed often whipping and circle movement as opposed to seisan which is linear movement.
Posted by: Neko456

Re: Sanchin breathing - 05/18/05 04:19 PM

It is the begining of Iron Body Training and Chi channeling, breathing as it is with most internal systems like Tai-chi, Pakua & Hising-i... is the heart of developing Chi.

Until this is realize it is a kata that build internal and external fitness. More details on each move would be mute because you don't know the form.
Posted by: melnaegeli

Re: Sanchin breathing - 05/20/05 10:11 AM