conditioning help

Posted by: steveuk

conditioning help - 04/10/11 03:33 AM

hi im quite new to the conditioning and would like some advice ,ive been doing press ups on my knuckles since istarted karate 4 years ago but only last year strted breaking ive only done it once and only 6 tiles ,january this year ive bought a straw makiwara and also a spung wall makiwara and i always use a heavy bag the problem i have is the middle knuckle on my right hand really protrudes much further than my first knuckle so when i strike unless i kink my wrist im only striking with the middle knuckle ,my first break my middle knuck swelled quite a bit and im thinking its perhaps when i broke i hit with the middle knuckle only ,is there anything i can do or should be doing to correct this any advice welcome ,i know a lot of people do not like conditioning but its something i want to do as ive got quite a few breaking sessions coming up this year and also my next grading i need to break
many thanks
Posted by: hedkikr

Re: conditioning help - 04/20/11 03:12 PM

The hand is a very complicated "machine". You can't just beat your hand against something hard & expect that you fist will automatically become a sledge hammer. It's obvious that you're not "conditioning" correctly.

Ask your sensei because he can SEE what your mistakes are.

From my personal training, I never trained like you described. I punch & kick Impact Pads regularly to develop my "shock" not brute strength.
Posted by: Kimo2007

Re: conditioning help - 04/20/11 06:16 PM

Well, my first reaction to your question is concern. You are attempting to train for something without any real understanding of the methodology. And the fact you have put out there, you are basically changing your body to match the technique, not adapting the technique to your body. A fundamental mistake that will result in injury.