Gosoku Ryu

Posted by: Stormdragon

Gosoku Ryu - 12/29/07 04:37 AM

Anyone know much about Takayuki Kubota's Gosoku Ryu as far as it's technical elements are concerned and differences from other Karate schools and it's "effectiveness"? For example I know the kata are different from others, what are they like?
Posted by: Prizewriter

Re: Gosoku Ryu - 12/29/07 08:52 AM

Have noooo experience with this, but some links you may already be awar of:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gosoku-ryu

According to the ever reliable Wiki (citation needed) it is a system somewhat similar to Shotokan in its methods.

I checked out some clips on Youtube... I am not a karate expert by any means, and due to my own ignorance I tend to look at karate from a superfical point of view. Having said all that, Gosoku looks a lot like most other kinds of Japanese Karate. It could be a Shotokan class or a Wado class I was looking at, it didn't seem much different.

Maybe someone more knowledgeable will shed some light on this.
Posted by: kempo_jujitsu

Re: Gosoku Ryu - 12/29/07 01:16 PM

tak kubota says.."karate is karate"
Posted by: hedkikr

Re: Gosoku Ryu - 12/31/07 05:48 PM

Kubota is a bona fide tuff guy. He's as friendly as he is dangerous. As he approaches 70, he still teaches classes in the Hombu in Glendale, CA as well as traveling around the world to their affiliate schools.

Everyone knows him as the man who invented the Kubotan key chain but this only scratches the surface of his accomplishments & skills.

His IKA has an international tournament every couple of years & his local tournament @ Occidental College is an annual event. The style incorporates many "street" elements

One of his top students, Rod Kuratomi is a personal friend of mine. If you're interested, I'd recommend the style/group. Link:

http://www.ikakarate.com/

Re: Gosoku Ryu - 12/31/07 07:05 PM