Kicking from a back stance

Posted by: Abluemoon

Kicking from a back stance - 01/18/07 11:00 PM

I am studying Shorin ryu Shidokan Karate I love the art but the one thing that get to me is that a lot of their kick are from a back stances. I do ITF Taekwondo and I do my kicks from a upright stance but some of the black belt there are telling me to only do the kicks in a backstance. The Sensei there is really good and he don't say anything about it. I just want to see what people think about it kicking from a backstance.
Posted by: hedkikr

Re: Kicking from a back stance - 01/19/07 01:59 AM

I wouldn't do it.
Posted by: steelwater

Re: Kicking from a back stance - 01/19/07 08:34 AM

I could see a usage for kicking in back stance if you had someone's arm and was pulling them into you, since one of the purposes of back stance is controlling someone even if they are larger and stronger than you. You could use a sidekick to brace yourself, and push the leg inward against their ribs while pulling their arm outward in an attempt to dislocate their arm.

Messy application? Yes. Will it work? Probably not, but it IS painful to have that done to you.

But hey, I'm just trying to see where the people at your dojo is coming from.
Posted by: cxt

Re: Kicking from a back stance - 01/19/07 10:19 AM

Abluemoon

Might be just something that they do in that specific dojo, or it might be something that they have you doing at the level in which your training at the art in their dojo.

I personally don't much care for the backstance--assumeing we are talking about the same "backstance" here.

But that may be because my backstance isn't very good.

IMO, if its not causeing you any pain or injury--and the head teacher seems ok with it--then do it as requested.

You might find you hate it or you might find it works well for you, but there is little point in learning a "new" system if your not actually going to try things in a "new" fashion.

His dojo, his rules.