kenpo/kempo

Posted by: sqtrainer

kenpo/kempo - 11/17/05 12:27 PM

Hi all,
I am trying to decide on a martial art and found it in another post a little bit about Kenpo. A local school of mine is taught by a 3rd degree black belt in Shaolin Kenpo and a 2nd degree in Jiu Jitsu. His school specializes in self defense, which is what I consider a top priority (along with conditioning.
My question is: Can anyone offer any background on their own training in Kenpo? Does the instructor of this school sound like a high enough level? Do you consider it highly effective in SD situations? Sorry if a lot of this sounds basic...I'm just starting out, but very serious about starting. Thanks.
Posted by: BuDoc

Re: kenpo/kempo - 11/17/05 01:43 PM

Just a couple of things, and something I may need to have clarified.

I have no real knowledge of Shaolin Kenpo, however any legitimate 3rd dan should be well versed in ther art, and the instruction of it, to provide you with the instruction you desire.

Now the clarification please. The way you type "Jiu-jistu" suggests the Brazilian version, as opposed to the usual Japanese spelling "Ju-Jutsu". I could be right or wrong about this but it bears checking upon.

If it is Brazilian jiu-jitsu, and he has a 2nd Degree BB, this should be very easy to check up on his credentials. There are very few(globally speaking) legitimate BJJ blackbelts and above, and it is usually very easy to find out about someone making claims(not that your instructor is).

I hope this helps in some way

Welcome to the forums. Good luck finding the training you seek.

Page
Posted by: Bushi_no_ki

Re: kenpo/kempo - 11/17/05 03:01 PM