Systema of Tampa Bay

Posted by: Eric4444

Systema of Tampa Bay - 02/20/06 12:27 AM

Does anyone have any information on this school? The instructor is Alan Carregal, apparently it's located just outside Tampa in Temple Terrace. I won't be able to visit it until April, and would like to know if the visit will be worth it. I only have a couple days in April to visit all the good martial arts schools in Tampa, I'll be going to college there in the fall.
I might as well ask, does anyone know if there are any Krav Maga schools in Tampa?
Posted by: saleem

Re: Systema of Tampa Bay - 07/05/06 01:16 AM

Eric4444,

I am a systema student in Dallas, Tx and since I have a bias toward systema, I can give a litte info there. I have not met Alan Carregal but I think he is certified to teach. I have met Sonny Pulzikas (http://www.russiancombatacademy.com), of Sarasota and he is an ex Soviet commando and he has a good teaching style. If you can spend some time with him, do so. Otherwise Alan will still be an excellent choice. KM and sytema both aim to equip the practitioner with skills of self-defense and it is up to the person how far he/she commits to it. Personally Km would be my next choice after systema because of its hard-hitting and agressive outlook. However what I saw in Systema is that it can be hard-hitting when the person needs it to be, finesse is where a person applies the force necessary and not go past into overkill. I would like to be in control of myself under tense situations and apply what is necessary but not too much. It is just a personal preference. Finesse and sensitivity takes more effort to develop and has its rewards as well.

There is no doubt of the effectiveness of a trained person using their KM skills. Go to the Krav Maga/Combative Arts section and read under the KM philosophy thread and find out what the experienced KM folks say are the goals of the KM practitioner.

Good luck and best wishes.
Posted by: KravGuy101